Columbus Day

I’m a bit off now. Monday is Columbus Day, and I completely forgot about it! You’ll probably wondering why I care, do I build three boats and float them across the bath tub blue? No, but as I work at a government facility, I get Columbus off. That’s right, you won’t be getting mail Monday.

Before you get mad at me for having a three day weekend, remember that I don’t get any extra days off, they just don’t give us the day after Thanksgiving, or any days after Christmas. At least this Christmas isn’t that special…oh wait.

Anyway, that’s not the point of this post. Columbus Day and I get along pretty well. It’s my vacation every year. Steph doesn’t get the day off, so I can do pretty much anything I want. I rent action movies, play video games, anything that Steph wouldn’t care to.

I can get McDonalds, which normally I wouldn’t be excited about, but it’s Monopoly season.  Is there anything in this world that I get this irrationally excited for!  I mean we never win, you always get two of three properties (just like in the real game), and you’re in that McComa for a while afterwards.  But man, when those commercials come on, I can’t wait.

I’m starting to think that this may be my last chance to get to the Pro Football HOF.  Steph has negative interest in going, and I’m guessing that a baby girl won’t be all that interested.  Who knows.

This Columbus Day should be my last one before parenthood. I have to decide how to take advantage of the day. Either that or just sleep in.

Leave a Reply

